Gan Craft Jointed Claw 178 Glide Baits

3 Posts
3 Users
2 Reactions
Blksheepfishing
(@blksheepfishing)
Limit Filler Customer
Topic starter  

Regarding the Gan Craft Jointed Claw 178 Glide Baits (floating version) those of you fishing these....what modifications do you make to these baits to improve the performance.....change hooks?......use snap swivels....split rings for line attachment? Any weights added such as the stick on or wire around treble hooks?

Also, what colors are generating more bites for you folks....West coast areas and East coast areas?

What are you storing these baits in...what containers? Please inlcude photos with your replies.

Thanks

ReplyQuote
Good Times
(@one-love)
Slot Fish

Okay, this could get deep… Take note I am no expert, just a hobbyist that happens to hold a share of Gan Craft. Just sharing thoughts, take it for what it’s worth.

Suspend dots, strips, something of the like, sure, why not. But don’t bother sinking the 178F. For real, just get an SS and be done with it. Much simpler. The 178SS likes fluoro, 15lb true test, or 12lb if you like, maybe even 10lb but I wouldn’t. The 178F demands braid, 20lb for me on the rare chance I actually throw it, or 15lb if you like, maybe even 10lb but I wouldn’t. I had discussions with a fellow about a week back on just this very topic. I do use a clip, usually, but sometimes just tie direct on 178ss (never 230’s though) but only if I intend retrieving jerkbait style. Which is quite fun. Otherwise, when used as intended, quick quarter turns of the handle, maybe a light rod twitch from time to time, super quick pause, basically make them just a touch erratic, while never giving up that quick constant side to side pump. In the purest sense, the profile responds best to simple sharp quarter turns of the handle. Or maybe third turns perhaps. But nothing about a 178 is chuck and wind. Nor 230 for that matter. That’s not what they do.